Warm-up sketch for March 12, 2010

12 Mar

I did another daily recording of my warm-up sketch on my Ustream channel Draw, draw, draw!

Vodpod videos no longer available.
more about “Warm-up sketch for March 12, 2010“, posted with vodpod

watch on Ustream

03/12/2010

Some additional commentary. Kim Holm from Cartoonarchy gave me a great tip. At some point I couldn’t see if my drawing was still anatomically correct (Kim referred to it as “drawing-blind”). You can check your drawing by looking at it in a mirror, or turn it upside down.

If you look closely, you can see the cat has no gut, and that the thighs of the cat are drawn somewhat too long. Unlike a human’s, a cat’s upper hind leg isn’t very long. The knee joint is mostly alongside the torso. In humans, on the other hand, it’s well below the torso, because of the proportionally much longer upper leg. Note that in both cases, the thigh bones start inside the torso, where the pelvis is.

So I messed up a bit. Luckily, there is always a next time…

