Pencilcast 04/17/2010 2:00PM

17 Apr

In my weekly hour long show on Saturday (23:00 CEST) I decided to draw Marilyn Monroe. I had practiced how to sketch her earlier today, and did some of the tutorials in “How to Draw Comics the Marvel Way” by John Buscema, where he covered how to draw beautiful women. This is one worthy for a rematch next Saturday.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
more about “Pencilcast 04/17/2010 2:00PM“, posted with vodpod

This sketch is more or less the same pose as the reference photo, but completely constructed from basic shapes (no tracing was used). This is a huge improvement over what I did earlier today.

Marilyn Monroe, drawn live on April 17, 2010 (sketch 2)

After I did the formal 3/4 perspective view, I tried a front view, using a simpler drawing style. Not sure what I was doing, I got these results, which aren’t bad, just not as refined as what I did earlier.

rawn live on April 17, 2010 (sketch 3)

