Exploration into comics storytelling

3 May

I want to create at least one comic in 2010 (I believe it was one of my New Year’s resolutions). I’m not going to tell you what the title, genre or subject is, but I will tell I will be using the Snowflake Method, as described by this article How To Write A Novel Using The Snowflake Method.

Of course, I will have to write more visual than reflective, so the result can be used for visual storytelling. I have no idea how to do that, so that is something I will have to learn as well. I assume a three-column approach is most appropriate for the final script: one column for the placement (on which page), one for the visuals, and one for anything written. Before I come to that stage, I should have a first draft of the story and the character descriptions, which is more or less independent of the storytelling medium.

Drawing-wise I’m not too troubled. Just compare what huge improvement I made in 7 months (oldest left):

Drawing kittens, part 3Cute kitten, drawn on May 5, 2010

It is storytelling what I should concern myself about. I’m sure there will be many revisions until the final draft, but I’m confident that I’ll be able to deliver something tangible before this year ends.

