Getting under the skin

15 Jun

Although I said I was going to do a weekly micro-cast and ditto video, I’m going to postpone that until I have mastered animal drawing some more. I would spread myself too thin if I kept doing that while drawing animals is what is powering those other projects. My guess is that it is prudent to first get better at drawing animals, and then return to the other stuff, so I can be more useful to the listeners/viewer. Although some have no problem getting ideas out of their behinds, it is not how I would like to present myself. I’m not much of a meta-person, it seems. I’d rather make content than talking about other people’s content (as a fanboy).

Anyway, I’m using The Art of Animal Drawing, written by Ken Hultgren as my guide now. Hultgren is an excellent draftsman of horses, and it seems to me that if you’re able to draw a horse from imagination, drawing other four-legged animals is much easier, because you can draw upon your knowledge of drawing the horse. So that is what I should be concentrating on.

colt

So here is a first sketch of a young horse, in which I tried to find the underlying structure (the skeleton). The bones are clearly visible, especially in the legs. It’s just an exercise of looking at photos of horses and identifying where the bones are. I used Hultgren’s book to help me with the sketch above.

I will keep doing the incidental sketch from observation, but increasingly I will try to replace those by drawings that use my knowledge of anatomy to construct (or reconstruct) a drawing. This conversion may take several months, if not more.

2 Responses to “Getting under the skin”

  1. Jose Gonzalez June 15, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    Excellent direction, Rene! I know you’ve been drawing animals for a long time already, albeit limited in choice of species, so this is right up your alley. I’m glad to see you expanding the range of subjects.
    The horse looks great! Best of luck, and may all the animals you find worthy of your attention turn out great!… I know they will.
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Rene June 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

      Thanks.

      Of course, humans are a kind of animal too. Just saying.

Comments are closed.

