Portrait course, lesson # 3

20 Sep

So the third session of this course proved to be a huge improvement over previous week. Although I didn’t really practice as much as I did in the week leading up to the previous session, I did learn a lot about drawing portraits from thinking about what Bridgman wrote in his book Complete Guide to Drawing From Life, based on the experience I had from the second session of the portrait drawing course on my local community college.

Portrait Course 2010/09/20 # 1

1. I first had the model drawn in rough on a scrap piece of paper (not shown here), so I had a sense of the proportions. Then, with the help of the instructor, I managed to set up the head in perspective view.

Portrait Course 2010/09/20 # 2

2. Here most of the features are drawn in, but something was not right with her forehead.

Portrait Course 2010/09/20 # 3

3. Here I figured out what was wrong, after I did a lot of comparing. Her right side of her forehead wasn’t as wide as I had initially drawn it, so I made it narrower. Also, my instructor pointed out that her chin wasn’t as pronounced as I initially sketched.

Portrait Course 2010/09/20 # 4

4. The hair was a tough cookie. I just wasn’t skilled enough, so I simplified the hairdo. There’s definitely something I need to practice before the next session.

Portrait Course 2010/09/20 # 5

5. After some more tinkering I had enough. Next week we will have another model, the brother of this model. I hope I can do him justice.

The instructor thought I had made a huge jump compared to previous week. I was still full of the current week’s drawing, so I really couldn’t tell. However, judging from last week’s blog post, I can’t but agree with him.

3 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 3”

  1. gonzalexx September 21, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    Progress indeed, my friend. You can tell there’s confidence in the lines. You are well on your way! Awesome! The experience is paying off big time! Thanks so much for sharing this!

    • Rene September 21, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      I couldn’t have done it without the cheers of my online followers. It makes all the hard work to get better worth it.

  2. gonzalexx September 21, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Likewise, my art friend! And don’t sell yourself short. You’ve got it in you, I always say. And the future is nothing but great!

Comments are closed.

