Portrait course, lesson # 4

27 Sep

This week there wasn’t as much apparent improvement as the previous week, but if I compare how much trouble some of the others on the course had, I really did remarkably well. The course I’m referring to is the portrait drawing course on my local community college.

Portrait Course 2010/09/27 # 1

1. This time an older model. Many of the fellow artists on the course had problems with her face, but some, like myself needed not much advice from the instructor. In this photo I had nailed the basic structure of the face.

Portrait Course 2010/09/27 # 2

2. Here I had all of her features roughly in the correct positions, with the carefully constructed structure as my guide.

Portrait Course 2010/09/27 # 3

3. Of course, the features are my weak point, since they require a lot of practice, and I’m sure I’ll get better at it over time. So the next best thing I could at this moment was to put the shading in the correct location, and thus not attract too much attention to those weaker details.

Portrait Course 2010/09/27 # 4

4. Since I had time left, I decided to make the portrait into a buste (upper part of the body, including the head), although I kept her clothing as simple as possible. Of course, never having done this before, I needed some guidance from the instructor.

Portrait Course 2010/09/27 # 5

5. After some tips from the instructor, I think I got the likeness and appeal pretty much as I wanted. Of course, there is always room for improvement, but this was the best I could do with my current skill level.

2 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 4”

  1. gonzalexx September 27, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    I think you did great! Confidence again! You were ready putting your features were they went. Perfect. The rest willl come eventually. I imagine once you get something down, you want to nail the next step with the same ease. Great to have an instructor.
    Great job, Rene!

    • Rene September 27, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

      Thanks, Jose. At first I wasn’t sure if this was the right course for me, but the instructor is wonderful and only steps in when he thinks you got stuck. In his mind the model is the best instructor, because the model is always right. The only thing he can do is offer advice, but he can’t tell you how to look. I do a lot of looking, at the model.

Comments are closed.

