Portrait course, lesson # 6

11 Oct

This time there was a young lady posing for us. We didn’t have a full class, but enough to have a good atmosphere. At least, there was trouble positioning the easels around the model on a stage.

Portrait Course 2010-10-11 # 1

1. After I tried to draw the position of the slits of the eyes, nose holes and mouth on a scrap piece of paper, I knew how to draw the model. The rest was just a matter of getting the details right.

Portrait Course 2010-10-11 # 2

2. I added the hair, indentation of the throat between the collar boans, and started the shading. However, I had not yet noticed that the head wasn’t deep enough.

Portrait Course 2010-10-11 # 3

3. I added most of the shading, but there was something not right about this head. So I asked the instructor.

Portrait Course 2010-10-11 # 4

4. The instructor pointed out that the upper hair line was deeper. To me that meant agreeing that the head was drawn too shallow (not deep enough).

I also had noticed the earrings, which are quite large, so not noticing them was a big oversight. Luckily, it was easy to put them in at this stage.

Portrait Course 2010-10-11 # 5

5. I had a real struggle getting her hair right, but since the instructor wasn’t commenting on in, I guess the structure was more or less sound.

Portrait Course 2010-10-11 # 6

6. I think this was as far as I could go with my current skills. I’m pleased with the result, and I believe the model liked the omission of her lazy eye. Well, I just wanted to make her look beautiful, which she appreciated.

4 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 6”

  1. gonzalexx October 11, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Excelent post, step by step, Rene!
    I think you got your process down really nicely.
    I like the way her face fills out by the end of the session.
    And the shading looks perfect. I can imagine how great it is to be counseled at different stages, and how the learning process bears fruit as you go. I’d love to be in one of these sessions. Maybe some day I’ll get a chance. It really does wonders.
    She turned out beautiful!
    thanks so much for taking the time to share. Really enjoyed it.

    • Rene October 12, 2010 at 10:22 am #

      You’re welcome, Jose.

      I only wished I had your talent for drawing. I have to work hard every day to get at this level. And even then, it feels a bit forced. I need to do a thousand more portraits. I really should.

      • gonzalexx October 12, 2010 at 10:53 am #

        Ah, don’t knock yourself, Rene. You’ve got the talent, and IMHO, what you lack is patience! LOL I’ve seen you belt out beautiful drawings, when i know for a fact that you’ve taken your time on them! So maybe not quantity at great speeds, but quality at whatever time it takes? The amount of drawings I see you put out is staggering at times, and I know your goal is practice, but I think if you take time with your work, you’ll see it in a different light. You’ve got the talent.
        I hope I’m not preachy with this. I’m just repeating myself because that’s the impression you gave me from some time ago. Too much in a hurry. Sometimes drawing in a hurry is fun, just to see what turns up, but careful detail, and using the eraser a lot is as good as gold (to me).
        You’ve got it, Rene. You can use it big time!

  2. Rene October 12, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Dear Jose,

    Patience is for … Ah well, perhaps I should mention the model couldn’t sit still for very long, and she was very tired, as you would expect from someone who is still in school. She kept falling asleep. This left ample time to revise my drawing.

    Even so, I left 20 minutes early, while most were only half-way through their drawing, probably finishing it up next week, or in 3 weeks. While my sketch was rough, their’s were still in the setup phase. Mind you, after two hours!!

    Frankly, I want to do similar drawings as the one above in 15 minutes, and do one good attempt in 90 minutes or so. Now I still need 80 minutes for the rough sketch as the one you see above. I need to cut that down to 15 minutes. My philosophy is that you better do short revisions until you entirely know your subject, and only then do the “official” drawing, taking your time.

    The week after next week there will be a one week break period. After that break, I will try to do two drawings in one evening, roughly one for each hour (we have two hours, with a 30 minutes coffee break in between).

Comments are closed.

