Portrait course, lesson # 7

18 Oct

We had the same model as last time. However, I didn’t feel so good, and drawing was a bit of problem. Somehow I muscled through, but I had to stay until the end for this one. Mistakes galore, I’m afraid.

Portrait Course 2010-10-18 # 1

1. Initial setup, after two failed attempts.

Portrait Course 2010-10-18 # 2

2. Although the model was very punchy, I kept my eye on my drawing.

Portrait Course 2010-10-18 # 3

3. The eyes were too small, so I had to make them bigger.

Portrait Course 2010-10-18 # 4

4. The shape of the eye was all wrong, so I had to adjust that.

Portrait Course 2010-10-18 # 5

5. I had the Cupid’s bow draw the wrong way (to her left, and had to correct that. I also paid attention to the shadows on her left side.

Portrait Course 2010-10-18 # 6

6. After making her face as lifelike as I was able to, it was time to make the hair in the same draw. Here I used the kneaded rubber and charcoal stick alternatively, to give a rough impression of her curly hairdo.

4 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 7”

  1. gonzalexx October 19, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Looking good, Rene. Even if you had a hard time in this session. Sounds like you realized you did good in the end eh?
    That combo of charcoal and kneaded eraser sounds great to play with, and it looks very good!
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Rene October 19, 2010 at 12:23 am #

      Why, thank you for your kind words. It seems most of the students work with color and take the full three sessions to finish. I’m the only one who starts over each time. I think that’s why I’m progressing so much. Quick sketches, a lot of iteration.

  2. Raymond Bonilla October 22, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    Hey Rene ,
    Great improvement on your portraits. Have you ever checked out The Artist’s Complete Guide to Drawing the Head by William Maughan ? It is an awesome book that helped me a ton. HOpe this helps!

    • Rene October 22, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      Thanks Raymond, I’ve put it on the wish list on the website of my local bookstore. You can’t go wrong if you try to emulate Leonardo da Vinci.

Comments are closed.

