Portrait course, lesson # 8

1 Nov

I decided to be a little bit more light-hearted and not take the portrait drawing course too seriously, yet work hard to get it right.

Portrait Course 2010-11-01 # 0

0. As a comics artist I couldn’t resist the opportunity to draw this quic sketch of the model, comics style. After this, the serious drawing started. Some thought this was the best drawing of the two.

Portrait Course 2010-11-01 # 1

1. The first initial setup was done in roughly 30 minutes. The rest was lack of skill, and trying to make small changes, and see if it works.

Portrait Course 2010-11-01 # 2

2. After 1.5 hours of nett drawing time, I still wasn’t done fiddling with the features. The hair is nice, though.

Portrait Course 2010-11-01 # 3

3. Final version. I discussed with the instructor to do color, but he said that I first need to be more confident in drawing with charcoal. When I asked what he meant with “more confident”, and asked if he meant the finishing touch on the features, he said: “Yes.” Don’t I know it. So I’ll be doing charcoal for now, unless I get a breakthrough in my skills.

2 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 8”

  1. gonzalexx November 1, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    Very cool! Even your cartoon version has likeness! Awesome.
    So there were some small bumps, according to the teacher.
    I wouldn’t know how to handle charcoal as of yet. I imagine its very different than drawing, or painting. I’ve probably produce a charcoal cloud, and leave a mine’s worth of dust on the paper. :)
    This looks good, Rene. Thanks for sharing all of it!
    Jose

  2. Rene November 2, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Thanks.

    It really isn’t about good or bad, but finesse. I’m just too crude at this moment to start painting. However, the instructor said, I could try it and it might be the break-through I need. However, I somehow doubt that.

    I suppose he wants me to be able to set up a sketch in a few strokes, not the few hundred strokes and erases I need right now. I guess I need to be patient and hope some day things will click and I start to see what I need to see, and then draw it.

    I’m just not seeing it right now.

Comments are closed.

