Portrait course, lesson # 11

22 Nov

Continuing the method by William L. Maughan, I did another two-colored pastel painting on grey toned paper. Frankly, the paper isn’t really taking the pastel pencils, or the pencils are just too hard. It could also be that I need to just work with what I have.

Portrait Course 2010-11-22 # 11
1. In the first hour I did a warmup sketch, which I used to draw a Smurfette hat on the model, to lighten the mood of this artist.

Portrait Course 2010-11-22 # 22
2. After fooling around in the first hour, I decided to draw the model full size in the second hour. I needed little guidance of the instructor.

Portrait Course 2010-11-22 # 33
3. The hair was a bit of a puzzle, and it had more volume than I drew here.

Portrait Course 2010-11-22 # 44
4. The instructor gave the top of the hair more volume. He also asked me to use black for the darker colors, because the red pastel pencil is not dark enough.

Even though I needed 30 minutes less to complete this drawing, I still think it was much better than the one before, where the instructor had quite some “intervening” to do. The model took photos of all the drawings, except mine. I guess that is to be expected, because the others had spent 6 hours on their drawings, while I had only spent an hour. However, I’m there to learn, not to please the model. I think I learned a lot from the 3 drawings, more than I would have done from a single drawing. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

2 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 11”

  1. gonzalexx November 23, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    I think you did the right thing, taking on multiple tries. It should be what you’re satisfied with in the end. You recognized where you wanted to go with it, and corrected those deviations you identified to get what you wanted. Plus the instructor didn’t have to help you out on the last run. It’s part of the learning process, in my humble opinion. All in all, the portrait looks good and you got a good lesson out of it. I can’t tell you how I feel I would have faired because the tools are not familiar to me at this time. But I would have been distracted by the odd colors (being used to black, grey, and white), and the textures.
    This lesson is very helpful, and I thank you for sharing it.

    • Rene November 23, 2010 at 12:33 am #

      Thanks for your nice comment, Jose.

Comments are closed.

