Portrait course, lesson # 13

6 Dec

This time a less structured approach to the portrait drawing. I wanted to get a general impression first and work on the details later. This didn’t work out like that, but I got closer to a loose approach than the 11 times before.

Portrait Course 2010-12-06 # 11
First setup after having done some initial sketches on a separate piece of paper. I tried to work loose, keeping an eye on the shadows in the face.

Portrait Course 2010-12-06 # 22
Much of the face is ready, now for the hair of the model.

Portrait Course 2010-12-06 # 33
The drawing seemed ready, but it was not. Still I did all of this without the help of the instructor.

Portrait Course 2010-12-06 # 44
The finished portrait sketch. The instructor suggested to add something in the background to have a more complete picture (a composition). I decided to add the cast shadow on the screen behind the model, and use it to accentuate the backlighting of the hair. I also strenghtened the vest and the colar bones, plus balanced the hair contrast and structure.

3 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 13”

  1. Jose Gonzalez December 10, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Hey Rene! I think you just graduated!
    Now you can go practice with your family, and not be in any danger from their reactions! LOL
    Seriously, you got there. I hope they give you lots of more models, variety, and challenges in what’s left of the portrait course.
    Great visiting these posts every week (this week I was late! LOL – but could always count on a good portrait session story – thanks)

    • Rene December 10, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

      I’d rather leave them ignorant of my artistic endeavors. Family often wants their portraits for free, or have such a heavy discount it even doesn’t pay for the materials.

      • Jose Gonzalez December 10, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

        LOL!!!! I see.
        Well then, you have to pick your subjects carefully.

Comments are closed.

