Portrait course, lesson # 16

10 Jan

During the two weeks of Christmas break I practiced a lot, and it showed during this lesson. I think this is another landmark in my drawing career. If I compare this with what I did the previous time, there is a world of difference. I have learned to use the black of the shadows and the value of contrast.

Portrait Course 2011-01-10 # 11
Initial sketch, which had some problems with the jaw line at the right side of the model. Luckily, the instructor pointed me to this in time.

Portrait Course 2011-01-10 # 22
The shading went surprisingly fast. At this point I saw something was wrong with the upper lip (not high enough). It’s important to step back and think about your drawing, compare with the original (the model) and look for any differences.

Portrait Course 2011-01-10 # 33
My instructor and some of the students thought this drawing had something. I couldn’t agree more. It has lots of appeal.

So there were no “mistakes”? Oh, there are enough things I could do better. The way I did the hairdo is abysmal. Nevertheless, I think I’m slowly getting to that point where I can draw what I see, instead of trying to fiddle with my drawing until it somewhat resembles the original, more by chance than intent.

And oh, I really need to go to an optician for a pair of glasses. I can hardly see the model, nor what I’m drawing. I’m almost blind, since everything is a blur.

2 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 16”

  1. Jose Gonzalez January 10, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Looking good. I totally agree you have reached a breakthrough.
    Practice pays!
    I too have a thing between drawing what I see. Sometimes it gets muddled by what I think it should look like. Then I look again, and notice, and try to fix. It’s a back-and-forth cycle for me, and my results always carry a lesson, big or tiny.
    You’ve done great! Congratulations.

    • Rene January 11, 2011 at 12:07 am #

      Thanks. I think it helps to not draw in one continuous sitting, but step back from your work now and then, literally, and walk around a bit to clear you mind. In my experience this prevents that you become predictable and start using stock techniques instead of being inventive.

Comments are closed.

