Portrait course, lesson # 17

17 Jan

I wanted to try another approach, because I keep getting stuck on structure and thought working from the inside out was good to teach myself just that. Alas, halfway through I lost concentration, which made it hard to improve on what I did a week ago. However, I could reason with myself about what I was drawing, so there was something I had learned in the meantime.

Portrait Course 2011-01-17 # 11
Initial setup. I worked from the cross between the eyes to the outside of the face (inside out).

Portrait Course 2011-01-17 # 2
Finished shading. I used charcoal for the shading, which didn’t work as well as the Conté pencil I used the previous time. I find it hard to work in layers with a stick of charcoal.

So all in all maybe not an improvement, but certainly another approach with somewhat similar result.

2 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 17”

  1. Jose Gonzalez January 18, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    Alright! That was a well planned attack.

    • Rene January 18, 2011 at 9:49 am #

      Charcoal sucks, though.

Comments are closed.

