Portrait course, lesson # 18

24 Jan

We had the same model as in lesson # 5. You see, models are hard to get, so we take what we get.

Portrait Course 2011-01-24 # 11
1. Initial sketch, which was pretty much spot on.

Portrait Course 2011-01-24 # 22
2. After doing the outline in Conté pencil, the shading was done using charcoal.

After 13 lessons I clearly made a huge leap in drawing skill, and still I don’t think I could earn my living from it. This simply means I have to work even harder to get to the next level.

2 Responses to “Portrait course, lesson # 18”

  1. gonzalexx January 24, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    It looks great! Great classic portrait pose too.
    Impressed by the ease you have with the media.
    You’ve come a long way!

    • Rene January 25, 2011 at 12:15 am #

      Thanks!

      If you see your work from week to week, you can’t really see much progression, but in 3 months there really is. My instructor was pleased with the result as a sketch. I mentioned I couldn’t earn my living from it, and when he asked what that meant, I replied that I need to work even harder to get better.

Comments are closed.

