Portrait Course, lesson # 21

14 Feb

Since the beginning of the portrait course (well, actually earlier) I had trouble seeing at a distance and close by. I needed glasses to correct this, but never had the money saved up, until I had a lucky break recently. This was the first time I used my next spectacles for drawing class.

Portrait Course 2011-02-14 # 11
1. First initial sketch. Well, I already did some warm-up sketches.

Portrait Course 2011-02-14 # 22
2. Finished sketch, done with Conté pencil and charcoal sticks.

So how did it go? Well, it was somewhat easier to see everything, but my field of view has become very much narrower, which isn’t always helpful with a big sheet of paper to draw on (I needed to take some steps back a lot of times to get an overview). And of course, the subtleties of portrait drawing are very much the same as before. You really need to concentrate to get it right.

2 Responses to “Portrait Course, lesson # 21”

  1. Jose Gonzalez February 14, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    Cool! Just be nice to your neck (that narrowed focus field can be a pain).
    That portrait looks great. It’s like way more defined (or maybe its me knowing you have new glasses). :)
    Great job!

    • Rene February 15, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      Well, not much chance of my neck being hurt, because I’m standing while drawing. Most of us are.

      I thought the likeness wasn’t there. Perhaps that’s because I couldn’t concentrate in the group, which isn’t always quiet.

      And I ran out of time, again.

Comments are closed.

