Archive | 2:59 pm

Developing a cute pink dinosaur

18 Feb

Based on a sketch of a cartoony dinosaur I put on my Deviant Art page yesterday and which in turn was based on someone else’s sketch made in 2007, I made a new digital sketch.

I’m trying to find out how to draw something consistently, because that is what I’m having problems with right now. When I try to “improve” my sketch, I’m getting too scientific about it, which spoils the whole appeal of what I drew originally as a fun sketch. What seems to work much better for me right now is to tweak the original rough sketch, rather than trying to redraw from scratch with each new drawing. I’m sure once I’ve drawn this guy enough times, I can draw him from scratch without tracing from an original.

Dinosaur original sketch1
1. I draw the sketch with pencil on paper, scanned it in and turned it into a pure black and white drawing. I basically put a piece of paper on top of the old sketch, copied some of the features and then drew a new sketch, with some improvements.

Dinosaur blue line version2
2. Before drawing in Sketchbook Pro on top of the scanned image, I cleaned the sketch somewhat and turned it into a blue line sketch. Actually, it is more like cyan line sketch. It is meant to be distinct from black, so when I draw over it, I can clearly see where I put my black outline.

Dinosaur final version3
3. The final version was drawn in Sketchbook Pro with a Wacom Intuos 3 tablet. I had to rotate the canvas, because for certain lines this worked much better. I’m still not satisfied with the roundness of the belly. It looks too “wobbly” to my eyes. I’m sure it’s a matter of practice.

Once I’ve more or less mastered drawing this pink dinosaur, I want to turn him into a cartoon character for a mini-comic based on the episode of He-Man, which I deconstructed a while ago.

