Laura Vandervoort in uncanny valley

1 Mar

I’m trying to make a piece that would be worthy to be added to the thread on The Drawing Board.org about Laura Vandervoort. So I’ve downloaded some images from Google Image Search and tried to copy them. The first two went kind of so-so, but the third has a pose which I don’t seem able to draw. Some would say to try something else, but I want to get to the bottom of this, because I’m having similar problems when I’m doing portrait drawing of models on my community college, once a week. Poses are tough to catch for me.

Below you can see what I’ve done so far, today and yesterday. The versions get somewhat better with each new attempt, but still no soup for me. It’s uncanny valley to the n-th degree, and I want out!

My guess is that it will take about 30 versions (10 days) before I’m able to draw something that doesn’t take you out of the drawing because it looks odd. Still 8 days to go. The drawings take anything between 30 minutes to 3 hours, depending on how much I’m in the zone. My guess is that the whole project will take 50 hours, at least.

And then I still have to make a drawing that is worthy to be put in the forum thread. That will probably mean I have to spend an equal amount of time on other photos, until I’m able to draw Supergirl from imagination, and use photos as reference instead of copying them.

To be continued…

laura vandervoort 3alaura vandervoort 3blaura vandervoort 3claura vandervoort 3dlaura vandervoort 3elaura vandervoort 3f

