Portrait Course, lesson # 25

28 Mar

Today I decided to use my Pentel color brush pen to do a portrait of the same model we had last week. However, I wanted to use airbrush ink instead of the original Pentel brush ink, which comes in cartridges (as part of the pen).

Portrait Course 2011-03-28 # 1

⇧ Undersketch of the model in 2H lead. The instructor gave me a few hints, because ink knows no mercy.

Portrait Course 2011-03-28 # 2

⇧ Inking, if you’re not used to it, is like swimming while you’re drowning. There’s no undo button, few opportunities to hide or repair mistakes. It’s now or never, no regrets.

I couldn’t load enough ink on it for the large size of paper I was using. Next time I should use a regular brush and India ink. It’s a pain to clean a regular brush, but the result can be so much more satisfying.

2 Responses to “Portrait Course, lesson # 25”

  1. Jose Gonzalez March 28, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I think it rocks! Seriously!
    Maybe its the lack of extra graphite, or the clean look of ink. I don’t know. Sort of reminds me of caricatures. Maybe that’s it.
    Well done, Rene! Well done!

    • Rene March 28, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      Why thank you! I’m glad you approve of my inked portrait.

Comments are closed.

