Chalk drawing walk

3 Apr

Instead of staying at one location, I decided to do a photo-walk, but then with chalk drawing. I didn’t use the chunky chalks of yesterday, but more portable chalkboard chalks.

Chalk raccoon
⇧ With a photo on my iPod Touch as my guide, I drew this raccoon in chalk. Of course, some kids showed up and we had a blast drawing.

Chalk bike
⇧ After I tried to draw a bike from memory (and failed), I found a bike as my model. Some old folks nearby (which no intention to draw) were chatting about bike prices. I drew this bike for only 10 eurocents in chalk.

Chalk duck
⇧ I sat on a bench, drawing a duck 10 m or so away. There were a few passers-by (bikers and runners), but they only smiled at my attempt to portrait some local wildlife.

So this time it wasn’t so much a community event, but rather an exercise to improve my skills to draw from life.

2 Responses to “Chalk drawing walk”

  1. gonzalexx April 3, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    And an excellent time was had by all. Specially you.
    Glad you are doing these things. Next step, “Banksy” style grafitti! (just kidding).
    Awesome that you are going out there to exercise your art instincts. So cool when there’s a story behind something.

    • Rene April 3, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Thanks! Story is key, perhaps even more so than skill. These are more like snapshots and will be gone in a few day, only leaving a digital photo as a copy of the original. Art is all about making, not so much the result.

Comments are closed.

