Writing assignments

22 May

Qjaox

Here is a writing assignment I gave myself. It’s written in the iPad app Note Taker HD, by Software Garden Inc., the software company of Dan Bricklin. It is a deep application, which hides its complexity until you need it and has lots of help to make it easy to get to understand the functionality. I think it’s excellent for brain dumping, because you have as few constraints as possible. It requires that you have a somewhat legible handwriting, though. It doesn’t do handwriting recognition (which doesn’t really work all too well anyway).

About the writing assignment. Just like you should draw every day, as a cartoonist, you should write stories every day, or write on a story every day. I’m going to try and replicate the daily sketches in writing, by writing short stories of around 300 words. I’m not sure if I can write a flash fiction story every day, but I guess I can work on it every day, so I have a finished story by the end of the week.

I don’t think I’ll be doing the actual writing in Note Taker HD. For that I have a much better app, called iA Writer, by Information Architects, Inc. It has some good functionality for writing.

