Only one year of portrait drawing

28 May

In their infinite wisdom, the Dutch government has decided to start raising value added tax on education for people over 20. Since I was just able to pay the lesson fee for a weekly portrait course, with the help of special social benefits (which are likely to be cut away as well), I can’t really justify such a high fee on what is essentially a hobby.

That’s just too bad. I thought the portrait course was really helpful. Now I have find other means to work on my life drawing skills, probably draw in public spaces.

I had plans to go the nude life figure drawing in my third year, but I guess that’s out of the question now. I’m sure I’ll be missed.

3 Responses to “Only one year of portrait drawing”

  1. Michael May 29, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Arrrgh, you were doing so well! Another instance of the Government having to get their grubby little hands into everything!

    ArrrOOoo!

  2. Jose Gonzalez May 29, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    Sorry to hear that. I hope you find an alternative. You’re doing excellent, and that’s not something that will stop you.

  3. Rene May 29, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    We will find a way to spend that chunk of change more efficiently. I learned most by studying on my own and drawing every day. The only thing I need is someone to give positive critique. That was the only thing I was getting out of it, because we didn’t receive any theory, nor did someone come in to demonstrate for us. The latter I can get from UStream, for free.

Comments are closed.

