Pride of lions

29 Aug

A few weeks ago I started a comic strip called “Big Schtick.” It was more like me venting ideas about running. However, I changed directions when I saw this would get old pretty soon. Within a few days I penciled together a cast of 5 characters, of whom I know little, not even what they look like exactly, even less how they act and reaction to situations.

Pride of lions

It feels like throwing myself into a pit filled with hungry lions who didn’t have anything to eat for weeks and weeks. Not good.

I will muddle through, but let that be a lesson to you (and myself) to do a test run of your web comic before publishing it. On the other hand, I would never have started this comic if I kept waiting for things to click. I guess I’m someone who needs trial by fire to get off his lazy behind and actually do something.

Like creating a web comic.

4 Responses to “Pride of lions”

  1. Marshall (Calmplex) August 29, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    I agree Rene’! I’m thinking of starting a webcomic myself and as it gets more and more developed in my head i find more and more ideas i feel i must work out before i start. A couple weeks into thinking about it and im already about ready to quit before ive even began. The other temptation is to just sort of start in beta (as you put it) and see if I sink or swim. I think I may do just that. I guess it’s more ok to publish half baked stuff starting out than it used to be. I guess people like to see the struggles and victories.

  2. Rene August 29, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    My problem is that I often sink. You’re suppose to learn from the experience, but I keep forgetting what I learned the last time. I must have cheese for brains, Swiss cheese.

  3. Michael August 30, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Well I think you can keep it going based on “slice of life” running experiences or “borrow” from other runners experiences too. But I think that it is good to have at least a months worth of strips ready to go before you publish your first one.

    Say 6 minimum if you are doing a weekly or 12 if a bi-weekly…

    You then might have a feeling if you want to do another 6!

    ArrrOOooo!

    • Rene August 30, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      My particular problem was that I wasn’t going to do this comic, because I wasn’t sure I was up to it. Now I know I’m not, I’m going to muddle through anyway.

Comments are closed.

