Archive | 2:17 pm

Lionel Logue (Geoffrey Rush)

15 Mar

Lionel Logue (Geoffrey Rush)

I haven’t seen The King’s Speech, but that doesn’t stop me from using imagery from the movie as my subjects for improving my drawing skills (or painting skills in this case).

The trick is the use broad strokes at first for the large areas, and ever smaller strokes for the details. Because I’m not too comfortable with drawing faces, I made an underdrawing with the pencil tool first and painted in a new layer underneath it.

After I had uploaded the image, I saw that the color impression on my Mac is quite different from that on the iPad. The iPad has no calibration, while the iMac obviously has. Even so, the digital painting has a fresh look and good plasticity. The rendering could be better, but that will come with practice.

I’m hoping that once I’m fast enough on the iPad, I can use it to do some fast prototypes of a painting before I paint it. That will probably be after the Summer break in portrait class at my local community college.